Tomato Glazed Meatloaves

by isabelcanosa

Image

I should prove that I don’t spend my life eating cake batter and other non-food, sugar loaded items so a savoury recipe is called for. This is the promised second recipe from The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook and has already become a staple for us with two batches sitting in my freezer already.

I had never had meatloaf, the idea of a dry, square lump of mushed up meat never really appealed. There was something too spam like about it. As a kid I only knew it existed because of Marge making it in The Simpsons and her family hating it (don’t know why that stuck with me). My only other memory of meatloaf is my father ordering it at a bad restaurant in the midst of a family tension on holiday; it was as disappointing as the evening. These combined meant I judged the poor meatloaf before trying it.  This recipe showed me there was light at the end of my meatloaf aversion tunnel. As Smitten Kitchen explains these meatloaves are basically large meatballs and I can jump on board with that!

These giant meatballs are unbelievably moist and flavourful; the opposite of all my preconceptions. Add the tangy, sweet glaze combined with buttery mashed potatoes and I’m drooling. I have added my own recipe for mashed potato which is basically heart attack mashed potatoes (a whole block of butter!). Smitten Kitchen uses less butter and adds buttermilk and has a few extra steps but I was being speedy so I made my usual recipe. Feel free to swap out for her recipe or your favourite mash method. Please also excuse the dingy photos; I made this in a rush at night and didn’t have the time/patience/imagination to make them look less like monsters eyes on a mash potato face!

Image

Ingredients
Print Friendly

Glaze
4 tsp. sunflower oil
4 tbsp.  Tomato puree
2 tbsp. cider vinegar
2 tsp. honey
2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp. Dijon mustard
Pinch of salt

Meatloaves
2 slices sandwich bread
1 medium stalk of celery
1 medium carrot
1 medium onion
1 garlic clove
1 tsp. of salt, plus more for vegetables.
900g minced beef
1 tbsp. tomato puree
1 tsp. smoked paprika
1 tsp. Dijon mustard
2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
120 ml milk.
Olive oil for cooking

Mash Potatoes
1kg potatoes
250g butter
2 tbsp. double cream.

To make the glaze, put all the glaze ingredients in a small saucepan and whisk to combine. Bring the mixture to a boil and let simmer for 2 minutes, whisking constantly. Take off the heat and set aside.

For the meatloaves start by adding chunks of the bread to a food processor and whizz to create breadcrumbs. Put the breadcrumbs in a large bowl and add the celery, carrot, onion and garlic to the food processor and pulse them until they are finely chopped. Heat a large frying pan over a medium heat until hot and coat the bottom of the pan with olive oil. Add the chopped vegetables and season with salt and pepper. Cook the vegetables until they begin to brown, stirring frequently. This should take 10-15 minutes.

Once cooked add the vegetables to the large bowl with the breadcrumbs and add the remaining ingredients. Stir together with a fork/your hands. Once combined, form the mixture into 12 balls using wet hands. Each ball should be about 7.5cm wide and weigh about 115g each. Arrange meatballs in an ovenproof dish so they are not touching and add a teaspoon of the glaze on top of each. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes until they are cooked through

To make the mash, peel and chop the potatoes into roughly one inch pieces. Rinse the cubes under cold water to remove any surface starch. Boil the potatoes in salted water until cooked through (15-20 minutes). While the potatoes are boiling melt the butter in a separate pan, stirring frequently, until the butter solids have turned golden brown.  As I have said before, keep an eye on the butter as it goes from foamy and bubbly to brown very quickly.  Remove from the heat. Once the potatoes are cooked, put the potatoes through a potato ricer (I only recently got one of these and it really makes a difference) into the pan with the browned butter or add to the butter pan and mash by hand. Stir in the double cream and season to taste.

To serve, place a pile of the mash on the plate and add the meatballs/meatloaves on top followed by and juice from the baking dish. Try and make your masterpiece look less like two eyes (or something else I won’t mention) and enjoy!

